EMBER scholarships cover five levels of mobility:

1. Undergraduate  

Mobilities for students registered in undergraduate programmes at their home university, who have successfully completed at least one year of their studies.

2. Master

Mobilities for students who are currently registered in a master’s programme at their home university.

3. Doctorate  

Mobilities for students  who are currently enrolled in a doctoral programme at their home university.

4. Post-doctorate

Mobilities for researchers holding a doctoral degree.

5. Staff

Mobilities for academic and administrative staff.

Mobility Durations

Type of mobility

Third countries to EU

EU to Third Countries


10 months

6 months


10 months

10 months


16 months

10 months


10 months

9 months


3 months

3 months